On July 1 the City Council voted to place the following restrictions on the use of fireworks within Wellsville City limits.

Fireworks are prohibited in the following areas until further notice:
* South of 900 South to the city boundary
* North of 400 North to the city boundary
* West of 200 West to the city boundary

In other areas of the city fireworks can be discharged on the following dates between the hours of 11 a.m. and 11 p.m. except as noted:
* July 1 – July 7 (July 4th hours extended to midnight)
* July 21 – July 27 (July 24th hours extended to midnight)
* December 31 (11a.m. – 1:00 a.m.)
* Chinese New Year’s Eve (11:00 a.m. – 1:00 a.m.)

If dry conditions continue additional restrictions may be necessary.